My Thoughts On Relicing/Can You Relic With Coffee?

Posted on May 25, 2017

0


Another guitar related post, this time I want to talk about the phenomenon of relicing guitars and parts.

First I have to address that I have nothing really against relicing ones guitar, like so many others seems to.
But I’m not really for it either to be honest. Now that sounds a bit confusing.. let me explain.

I’ve played guitar for about 12 + years, and I’ve had my Fender Strat for 9 of those and it only has 3 visible cracks in the finish so far. The fretboard does show wear and tear but what would you expect from playing a guitar almost daily for 9 years?

So this is how I look at it.
I’ve always grown up with the attitude that instruments are expensive beautiful things that you need to take care of, and be careful with when you handle them.
I still agree on that, but the most important thing is that you enjoy playing them so naturally it’s going to get dings and bruises over time.
I’m not a touring artist or anything like that, I use my guitar on my free time and to create my own music, and being so careful with it.. it most likely won’t end up like a super relic/torn down guitar within the next 10 years or so.

So I can fully understand if just regular Joes out there wants to have the looks and feel of playing a relic guitar, because let’s face it, a relic old strat is eye candy!
Now I could never purposely harm my guitar so that it looks old and torn down, if it happens by time and from playing it then it’s okay for me.
But I fully support people if they want to do that, because these people has spend their hard earned money on a guitar and they are allowed to do whatever they want with it.

And the people who bash these and say “oh they are posers who are relicing their own guitars” and shit like that, are contenders for being the real posers, because that is just a shitty attitude by someone who feels the need to look down on someone else just for the sake of it.
Even Fender Customshop themselfs are relicing the guitars because they and other people like it.
And if it inspires you or gives you more fire to play, then why not?

So if you want to relic your own guitar, go for it! If you don’t, then don’t do it and in the mean time don’t bash anyone for doing it.

Now for a different question: Can you relic with coffee?
More specifically I mean can you relic your plastic parts for the guitar, because I’ve seen different people try coffee, or tea and stuff like that in attempts to try and make the guitar knobs look like they’ve yellowed with time.

I’m currently building a red strat so I bought a pickguard that is suppose to look a bit yellowed, just because I thought it would match the red body and look much more beautiful than just a plain white one.
Yes, I could have gotten a white one and just wait 10 years for it to get this kind of yellow/cream look, but I simply don’t want to wait that long for it.

And having so many people either say the coffe and tea worked, and did not work for them I decided to try it out myself.
So today I put my trem arm in a cup of cold coffee and will let it sit there for a couple of days, and I’ll hook you up with the results :)

All Photos By: Robin Renmark

Posted in: Övrigt