Give a Glimpse of What Yer Not – Dinosaur Jr.

Posted on July 23, 2017

0


I’ve been a huge fan of the russian Garage Rock/Punk/Shoegaze/Psychedelic-Rock group Grazhdanskaya Oborona, especially their later releases that tended mostly towards a mix of all those genres I just listed, and while asking on a forum for similar music people directed me to the Shoegaze genre.

After a couple of years back and forth I decided to sit down and read about which bands were huge in that particular genre, and when I saw the name Dinosaur Jr I just had to take a listen. I did not think I could take a band with such a name seriously, but I was slowly being blown away by their sound.
Now, some might say it’s not Shoegaze and such.. I’m no expert in that field so I won’t say anything other than this is freaking awesome!

After listening to Tiny and Be A Part from this album, I simply had to go out and buy it and I have not regretted it one bit.
Everything from J Mascis clean and smooth vocals, to his beautiful melodies and heavy riffing truly is something special, as I’ve not yet found anything like it..
When listening to this album and some of their earlier stuff, one can really understand why they have been sort of the pioneers within these genres, and why they are greatly respected among the fans along with inspiring bands such as Nirvana along the way.
The only band that I’ve heard that comes even close to sounding similar has to be Grazhdanskaya Oborona, but not even they can do Dinosaur Jr.

After taking some time going through most of their albums, I can safely say that “Give a Glimpse..” is the one I prefer the most.
For some reason I found their song writing to be very inconsistent over the years with some songs sticking out here and there, but most of them being pretty bland.
This album however takes what the older sound did, freshed it up and tried to perfect it in some way while adding more melody and overall better song writing. But by all means, it’s not a perfect album.

Songs like Tiny, Be A Part and I Told Everyone starts up this album in the best possible way, and is a true statement that music does not have to be advanced to be enjoyed or sound great.
Bass player Lou Barlow also wrote and sang two mid tempo songs here, “Love Is..” and “Left/Right”, which I didn’t like at first since I was too enchanted by Mascis vocals and wanted some more faster songs.
… but taking a few more listens and I can say that they have grown on me, together with Barlows voice even if it doesn’t really sound like Dinosaur Jr because well, you’ve got to have Mascis vocals for that ;)

Give a Glimpse of What Yer Not is a great album to start with if you are new to the group, it’s simple and does not overstays its welcome while still kicking some ass.
Despite having some flaws, this is a very entertaining album with addicting songs that you will find yourself humming to in your head all day long.
If you haven’t listened to Dinosaur Jr before, I recommend you do so right now and start with this album or perhaps “I Bet on Sky”.
Well done Mr Mascis, Barlow and Murph.

7/10

Photo Used With Permission From Dinosaur Jr

Posted in: Rock